Spire.Email for .NET is a professional .NET Email library specially designed for developers to create, read and manipulate emails from any .NET (C#, VB.NET, ASP.NET) platform with fast and high quality performance.

Fri Sep 23, 2022 7:39 pm

Hi! I was using Aspose Email to process PST messages, but found that there is a 50 message limit for the free version. As I am just a person and not a company, I'm NOT paying $1000 for Aspose, lol. So I Googled and found Spire.Email. Works great for reading, but I'm perplexed as to editing/deleting.

The use case is I am a developer that makes Minecraft plugins for people. I tell them if they have issues to use a webform I made. The form emails a special email, and I have an Outlook rule that moves those emails to a PST. What I do is run a C# program I wrote that parses the PST and when I mark the issue as resolved, it edits the message subject and does "[DONE] " + subject so the next time I open it and scan, it won't display that.

So what I'm confused about is, how do I edit the record to update the message subject? If I can't, I saw the OutlookFolder object has a RemoveItem method. I am fine with just deleting the messages from the folder if needs be, but I can't find the entry ID byte[] to pass to it. When I read I'm doing:
Code: Select all
public static List<SupportQuestion> GetSupportQuestion(string pstfile) {
  try {
    if (!File.Exists(pstfile)) {
      Dialog("Invalid PST file!");
      return new List<SupportQuestion>();
    }

List<SupportQuestion> records = new List<SupportQuestion>();
    OutlookFile outlookFile = new OutlookFile(pstfile);
    OutlookFolder folder = outlookFile.GetFolder("Questions");
    IEnumerable<OutlookItem> items = folder.EnumerateOutlookItem();
    foreach (var item in items) {
      // I use the data from item here to create a SupportQuestion object and add to the list
    }
    return records;
  } catch (Exception ex) {