Spire.Doc is a professional Word .NET library specifically designed for developers to create, read, write, convert and print Word document files. Get free and professional technical support for Spire.Doc for .NET, Java, Android, C++, Python.

Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:40 pm

Hello,

I'm new to Spire.Doc and we are thinking about migrating from Aspose. But I have encountered an issue, which is crucial for us.
I have attached a sample template so you can recreate the issue:
testing.zip

What we want to achieve is to have complex IF merge tags, e.g.
Code: Select all
{IF {mergefiel} = "True" "output a layouted table with other mergefields inside" ""}
In this case the output document is empty.

There also seems to be some kind of bug even with just some multiline output, e.g.
{IF {mergefiel} = "True" "output a multiline text" ""}
Some parts of the output are beeing repeted at the beginning of the conditional mergefield.

Here is the sample code:

Document document = new Document();
document.LoadFromFile(@"test.docx");
string[] fieldNames = { "Amount_open__c", "Insured_By_Heidelpay__c", "Invoice_Number__c" };
string[] fieldValues { "101,75", "False", "i97807-Test" };
document.MailMerge.ClearFields = true;
document.MailMerge.HideEmptyParagraphs = true;
document.MailMerge.Execute(fieldNames, fieldValues);
document.SaveToFile("test.pdf", FileFormat.PDF);

And not related, but also a support question: Are \b and \f switches like {MERGEFIELD field \b "some text: "} allowed in the mergefield? In my tests it didn't work.

mrgaijin

Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:31 am

Dear Daniel,

Thanks for your inquiry. Below are my answers to your questions.
I did a test with the latest Spire.Doc Pack Version:8.1.
Question 1: In this case the output document is empty.